T20 World Cup: Australia has announced its team to defend its ICC Men’s T20 World Cup title, bolstered by the addition of a late-overs expert.

The greatest news involving the group is that Tim David has officially switched from Associate Member Singapore after being chosen by the Australian selectors.

The only change from Australia’s dominant 2021 T20 World Cup squad is the selection of the hard-hitting all-rounder, who replaces spinner Mitch Swepson to give Aaron Finch more batting options.

The 26-year-old has made waves for his strength with the bat in life-or-death situations on the domestic scene. The Australians, who are one of the favorites to win the event at home, will benefit greatly from the inclusion of David.

Australia's T20 World Cup team
Australia’s T20 World Cup team

T20 World Cup 2022 fans from all over the world can book T20 World Cup tickets from our online platform xchangetickets.com. Cricket fans can book the Australia T20 World Cup Tickets on our website at exclusively discounted prices.

The inclusion of David was welcomed by Australian Chair of Selectors George Bailey, who also attributed Swepson’s exclusion to the demands and circumstances of the team.

“Tim (David) continues to establish himself with some quality performances in leagues around the world, earning a place in the squad. He is a highly gifted, natural ball striker who will add extra batting depth to the group which has had a lot of success in T20 cricket.

“We expect him to play a similar role to that he has been playing in the past few years.”

“Mitchell Swepson was unlucky to miss out based on conditions in the UAE at the last World Cup where we planned for tired, spinning wickets compared to what we would expect are good batting conditions along with the larger grounds in Australia.

On October 22, Australia’s campaign gets underway in Sydney as they square off against rival New Zealand across the Tasman Sea at the SCG.

In 2021 final, Mitch Marsh, an all-rounder, stole the show with a 50-ball 77* to lead Dubai to an eight-wicket victory.

The tournament and Australia’s three-match T20I series in India, starting in late September, are both events that the No. 3 hitter will be ready for after recovering from an ankle ailment.

Australia has maintained its successful bowling strategy from the previous season, with No. 1 T20I bowler Josh Hazlewood leading the attack.

Beginning on September 21, Australia will tour India for three Twenty20 Internationals with a minor roster adjustment.

Cameron Green will take the place of David Warner as the opener during a controlled time of preparation for a full summer program.

Australia's T20 World Cup team
Australia’s T20 World Cup team

Australia T20 World Cup squad

Aaron Finch (c), Pat Cummins (VC), Ashton Agar, Tim David, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Key takeaways from Australia’s squad for the 2022 T20 World Cup

Australia chose its team for the 2022 T20 World Cup to defend its championship, backing the known and true but also making a risky choice.

The 15-member team had just one difference from the group that won the championship in the UAE a year prior. Aaron Finch, the team’s captain, has been given the go-ahead to defend the championship on their home ground; with the selectors expecting that home-field advantage will play a significant role.

Tim David’s selection, however, draws attention to a crucial modification that will enable Australia to add more firepower to an already explosive batting lineup.

Here, we examine the most important lessons learned by the Australian team, which will attempt to win the trophy once more on November 13 at the MCG.

Backing the old guard

The performance of Captain Aaron Finch caused Australia the most trouble before the selection. Finch’s batting average and strikeout totals have both fallen below 125 since the start of 2021. But because of his track record and strong leadership abilities, he will be trusted to guide the team to back-to-back T20 World Cup victories.

The rest of the lineup also has an uncannily similar appearance, with a middle-order that is likely to be settled and featuring three true all-round possibilities to support Finch and David Warner, who will begin the innings.

With the shrewd spin option of Adam Zampa, the speed three of Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Starc, and Pat Cummins should be able to cause some damage.

Australia has fully embraced the saying “If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it” with the 15-member squad.

An X-factor selection

However, Australia did make a noteworthy choice in maverick batter Tim David. With his exploits in several domestic T20 tournaments, David has established a reputation as one of the ball’s most aggressive strikers, with the added skill of contributing with a few useful overs.

David has never played abroad for Australia; all of his appearances have been for Singapore. David, though, has a remarkable T20 record and the ability to completely alter the outcome of a match. David has a terrifying strike rate of 164.17 while averaging over 30 in his T20 career.

Now, Australia’s biggest task will be integrating him into an established middle order. Despite this, Australia has a tantalizing chance if Glenn Maxwell and Tim David are both on their game after an innings.

Pace is ace

Leg-spinner Mitchell Swepson was the lone significant absence from Australia’s team that won the championship in Dubai, with David being brought in. Due to his absence, Australia will only have two alternatives for spinners in the tournament: Glenn Maxwell-backed Adam Zampa and Ashton Agar.

Australia's T20 World Cup team
Australia’s T20 World Cup team

Zampa will likely serve as the starting spinner at the World Cup, with Agar serving as his backup. Maxwell will also provide some overs, and his off-spinners have developed tremendously.

Instead, Australia is counting on their highly praised pace attack, which includes Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, and No. 1 MRF Tyres T20I bowler Josh Hazlewood, to perform admirably. The fourth pacer, Kane Richardson, has been chosen to support the frontline trio. If necessary, Mitchell Marsh and Marcus Stoinis will also provide some useful pace overs.

Cricket fans can get T20 World Cup Tickets through our trusted online ticketing marketplace xchangetickets.com is the most reliable source to book T20 World Cup tickets.